skip to main content

Fordham GSS Class of 2022 Award and Scholarship Recipients


With the Class of 2022 graduation ceremony coming up tomorrow, May 24, 2022 at 10 a.m. ET, Fordham GSS would like to honor students who have received awards and scholarships. These students will also be honored in the graduation program at tomorrow’s ceremony.

Congratulations to our award recipients and all of the graduates from the Class of 2022!

Dr. Peter B. Vaughan NASW Student Award

The New York City Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers asks each social work school in New York City to select a graduating student to receive this award based on demonstrated development of professional commitment, identity, and values through student leadership, field practice, or academic projects. The award is named for Dr. Peter B. Vaughan, dean of the Graduate School of Social Service from 2000 to 2013.

Recipient: Linda M. Levin

NASW Student Award – Connecticut

The Connecticut Chapter of NASW honors a graduating student from the Westchester campus who resides in Connecticut with this award based on demonstrated development of professional commitment, identity, and values through student leadership, field practice, or academic projects.

Recipient: Ricardo Andrés Arocha

St. Peter Claver Award

This award is named for a Jesuit who, due to his life and work, became the patron saint of slaves of Colombia and of African Americans. Each year this award recognizes graduating students from each campus for their outstanding performance in coursework, fieldwork, or school service.

Recipients: Linanuel Agbai, Valerie Belmont, Robert L. Horn, Gillian L. Sobocinski


The Catholic Interracial Council of New York (CICNY) sought to increase cooperation and understanding between African Americans and whites, and advance the cause of social justice and equality for African Americans. A fund in the council’s name honors a graduate from each campus who has worked to further this mission.

Recipients: Marthe Carine Guirand, Susie Joute

Esther Jean Arnhold Award

This award is named for a New York City artist who particularly enjoyed sharing her interests with children. Her bequests have benefited young people and the arts. The Graduate School of Social Service fund in her name recognizes graduates who have been outstanding in their work with children or embraced the arts in their social work.

Recipients: Doreen S. Dorcely, Katiuska Jorge

Ann Walsh Award

This award was named for a former employee and friend of the Graduate School of Social Service. Students are selected for this award based on their commitment to promoting social change.

Recipient: Stacey Antoine

Children and Family Institute Scholars

Children and Family Institute Scholars are chosen for outstanding academic performance, demonstrated leadership qualities, and an identified desire to work with children and families in Westchester County.

Recipient: Federica Davolio

Liberty Partnership Scholars

This scholarship is awarded to students who have outstanding leadership and performance in the Liberty Partnership Program schools.

Recipients: Mariah L. Brown, Michelle Diaz, Caitlin Danielle Dixon

Fordham Hartford Partnership Program in Aging Education

Fordham Hartford Partnership Program in Aging Education is a public-private scholarship program in collaboration with the New York Academy of Medicine. The goal is to promote social work leadership in the field of gerontology.

Recipients: Tatiana L. Lloyd-Dotta, Ellen Barker Travers

Kathy and Brian MacLean Scholarship in Palliative Care

This scholarship is awarded to students who complete an internship in palliative and end-of-life care and who are committed to a career in this field.

Recipients: Matthew H. Catapano: The Mount Sinai Hospital, Candace Feit: MJHS Hospice and Palliative Care, Daniel Aram Koteen: Danbury Hospital Department of Palliative Care Services, Edward C. O’Hanlan: MJHS Hospice and Palliative Care, Malika Spruiell: Cancercare

West Side Inter-Agency Council for the Aging Beatrice M. Goldberg Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a student who completes an internship in an agency dedicated to support or advocacy of older adults and who is committed to a career working with older adults in New York City.

Recipient: Emma Neusner

The Prioritizing Integrated Care, Prevention and Equity: Leading Interprofessional NYC-Based Efforts (PIPELINE) for Youth Health Scholarship:

This Scholarship is awarded to students selected as PIPELINE for Youth Health Fellows (2021 – 2022). Supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration, the PIPELINE for Youth Health Fellowship is an innovative behavioral health workforce development program. Selected fellows complete specialized coursework and internship focused on prevention, integrated behavioral health, and health equity.

Recipients: Emely Carrillo, Emilio L. Castillo, Shaniah A. Grant, Cleidy Hurtado, Susie Joute, Fiona M. Mackenzie, Vanessa Ortez, Stacyann N. Reid, Brenda Maritza Rivas Linares, Esterly Armando Valdez, Allison R. Adler, Ricardo Andrés Arocha, Brenda Arriola, Tiffani Bishop, Sandy Diane Castillo Guiracocha, Shakaya Clarke, Olivenne M. Curry, Doreen S. Dorcely, Yanicke Harper, Anyelys Helliger, Ariel G. Joseph, Kathryn Paris, Shanice Marie Peters, Franki N. Scordato, Jene’ Lisa Smith, Anna N. Strzempko, Eliza Katherine Zimmerer

Student Ambassadors

GSS Ambassadors serve as a resource to newly admitted students, providing them with support and guidance as they transition into the M.S.W. program.

Ambassadors: Pamela Michelle Ashford, Jessica Lisseth Torres

Allegra Benveniste Honigman Award

This award is given to a graduate of the B.A.S.W. program at Fordham School of Professional and Continuing Studies who demonstrates academic and practice excellence. It was established in memory of Allegra Benveniste Honigman, a 2004 graduate of the B.A.S.W. program.

Recipient: Lori A. Gaskill

The Thea Bowman, Ph.D., FSPA, Research Award

This award is granted to a doctoral student for an outstanding doctoral dissertation.

Recipient: Monique Yves Lalane


Comments are closed.